Marilyn Meyer
4/16/2013 01:48:16 pm

My first quote is " I think the idea is that every person has to live for his or her own life and than make the choice to share it with other people. You can't just sit their and put everybody's lives ahead of yours and think that counts as love. You just can't. You have to do things. I'm going to do what I want to do. I'm going to be who I really am. And I'm going to figure out what that is." This quote to me is very powerful, and it shows to me that Charlie is growing up. This is what is going to help support in me saying that Perks should NOT be banned/challenged. This is Charlie saying that he wants to decide for himself what he wants to do, and this is what everyone has to do sooner or later in their life. This is called growing up and saying that mommy and daddy aren't always going to be there to censor the world from you or tell you what is right from wrong. Charlie is making up his own mind about what he wants to do and that is called being independent which everyone should be; especially in high school when you are going through the stages of deciding what is right from wrong. High school is the stage that you should be learning the tools of life to help you further on in the future.

My second quote is “I walked over to the hill where we used to go and sled. There were a lot of little kids there. I watched them flying. Doing jumps and having races. And I thought that all those little kids are going to grow up someday. And all of those little kids are going to do the things that we do. And they will all kiss someone someday. But for now, sledding is enough. I think it would be great if sledding were always enough, but it isn't.” This is another quote about growing up. Charlie is saying how everyone is going to have to experience life some way or another eventually. Life itself can not be censored from you no matter what. It is always going to be happening around you and you need to be prepared. Banning this book could be sheltering kids from human nature. These events do really happen like pre marital sex, and masturbation, and experimenting with new drugs, but that's all the part of growing up. This is how you learn to decipher what is right from wrong.

My third quote from Perks of Being a Wallflower is "So, I kissed her. And she kissed me back. And we lay down on the floor and kept kissing. And it was soft. And we made quiet noises. And kept silent. We went over to the bed and lay down on all the things that weren't put in the suitcases. And we touched each other from the waist up over our clothes. And then under our clothes. And the without clothes. And it was so beautiful. She was so beautiful. She took my hand and slid it under her pants. And I touched her. And I just couldn't believe it. It was like everything made sense." This quote shows maturity from both Sam and Charlie. One of the reasons that this booked is being challenged are for quotes like this with sexual content in it. This is human nature though. When you're in high school, that is usually the time that you experiment with your sexual curiosities. Phsycologists have discovered that even as early as two years old you have sexual behavior towards themselves and others. Some people may be offended by reading this, but its human nature whether you like it or not. The human body can not help what it was designed to do, which is to reproduce. So, I think that kids need to know about sexual behavior and learning about this could prevent teen pregnancy in the end. It could also help them decide what to do in a situation when it comes to that time in their life.

My first quote for the Catcher in the Rye is “But while I was sitting down, I saw something that drove me crazy. Somebody'd written 'fuck you' on the wall. It drove me damn near crazy. I thought how Phoebe and all the other little kids would see it, and how they'd wonder what the hell it meant, and then finally some dirty kid would tell them— all cockeyed naturally— what it meant, and how they'd all think about it and maybe even worry about it for a couple of days. I kept wanting to kill whoever'd written it.” The booked was banned for foul language. Honestly I don't think that the book should be banned for foul language. Yes it's not appropriate for the author to have put the word "fuck" in the sentence, but even if that word had not ben written in this sentence, kids are still going t hear that word. In high school, the word fuck is said probably three times more in one day in a class, than how many times it is in this book. I'm not saying its okay for the kids to say it out loud. But eventually they are going to hear someone say that word and the another person so they should know what it means and not get censored from it. Cuss words are evolving and there is no way to keep your child from hearing and or seeing cuss words in their life when they are in high school.

My second quote is “She really started to cry, and the next thing

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    April 2013

    Categories

    All