M. Valles Eng 102
4/7/2013 03:59:29 pm

Michael Valles
English 102
Section 0023
Course 23335
Blog entry 1
Instructor Mrs. Matayabas
April 7, 2013



The book Brave New World I found after reading into the first few chapters it consumed me with confusion on the picture setting. I took me back mentally when the constant use of drugs on a regular basis is within the story line of the novel. I can see how I and many others found it offensive specifically (Huxely p.81). The scene is set where soma is passed around where it appears to be a dinner setting similar to the last supper setting of Jesus in the Holy Bible specifically (Mark 14:17-26). The novel makes reference to the number of twelve, which is the exact number of disciples taking the bread symbolizing it to be the body of Christ, where in the novel soma is used. The novel also uses a loving cup passed around where all drank from it,l which this also appears to be some type of drug they began to singing
“Come, Greater Being, Social Friend,
Annihilating Twelve-in-One!
We long to die, for when we end,
Our larger life as but began.”(Huxley p.81)
This is also similar to the Holy Bible where Jesus takes a cup of wine, which symbolizes his blood, which he passed around during his last supper. This reference to Holy Bible to me is one of many reasons why this book was banned

Reply
Christopher Johnson
4/8/2013 05:59:26 am

To: Mike
After reading your response to the book Brave New World, I am left wondering wether you agree with its banning or not.
How or what were you confused about in the beginning of the novel? Also what do you mean that the constant reference to drug use took you back?
Christopher Johnson

Reply
Michael Valles
4/13/2013 10:13:09 am

Christopher,
I guess I should have made it clear that I believe this and 1984 should both still be banned. I should have stated when I wrote it took me back, not in a literal sense, but made me look to took me back that someone would even consider writing something of this nature. It did make many references to drugs and alcohol, in the novel. This is a interesting book to read in some sense on what someone should not write for kids to meaning teenage and below on what our future may hold.
Michael Valles

Reply
Michael Valles Blog 2
4/17/2013 06:26:09 am

Michael Valles
English 102
Section 0023
Course 23335
Blog entry 2
Instructor Mrs. Matayabas
April 7, 2013



I found that the novel 1984 also took a reference in the Holy Bible as well (Genesis 3:6) this is where Eve told Adam to eat of the fruit that was from the tree of knowledge. This lead to the knowledge they were not clothed and covered themselves. The novel also has a similar reference where Julia after giving Winston the note
I love you. (Orwell p108)
This took Winston down a long path into a different garden trusting his lust for knowledge of “Love” that Julia knew what she was doing. Winston and Julia met for the first time in an area in the forest that appeared to be more like a wonderful garden or “Golden County” (Orwell p.122). Winston lead down a path that he knew he would never return and things would never be the same.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Write something about yourself. No need to be fancy, just an overview.

    Archives

    April 2013

    Categories

    All